For many new players, the rules of Magic: The Gathering can be overwhelming. With so many different card types, abilities, and interactions, it can be difficult to keep up. One question that often arises is whether or not Crew is an activated ability. In this article, we will explore the rules surrounding Crew and whether or not it fits the criteria of an activated ability.
What is Crew?
Crew is a keyword ability that was introduced in the Kaladesh set. It appears on artifact vehicles, which are artifacts that can transform into creatures under certain conditions. The Crew ability allows a player to tap any number of creatures they control with total power equal to or greater than the Crew number of the vehicle. If the crew ability is successfully activated, the vehicle becomes a creature until the end of the turn.
For example, let's say you have a vehicle with a Crew number of 3. You could tap three 1/1 creatures to activate the Crew ability and turn the vehicle into a creature until the end of the turn. The vehicle would then be able to attack or block, just like any other creature.
What is an Activated Ability?
An activated ability is a type of ability that can be activated by paying a cost. The cost can be in the form of mana, tapping a creature, or any number of other requirements. Once the cost is paid, the ability is activated and its effect occurs.
For example, the ability on the card "Lightning Bolt" is an activated ability. The cost to activate the ability is one red mana and the effect is dealing 3 damage to a target creature or player.
Does Crew Qualify as an Activated Ability?
According to the rules of Magic: The Gathering, Crew is not considered an activated ability. This is because the ability does not use the word "activate" or "ability" in its text. Instead, it is a special action that can be taken during the declare attackers step of combat.
Special actions are a type of ability that do not use the stack and cannot be responded to by the opponent. They are similar to activated abilities in that they require a cost to be paid, but they do not use the same terminology.
Why Does it Matter Whether or Not Crew is an Activated Ability?
Understanding the difference between keyword abilities like Crew and activated abilities is important because it can impact how certain cards and interactions work. For example, if a card has the ability to counter activated abilities, it would not be able to counter Crew because it is not considered an activated ability.
Additionally, knowing the rules surrounding Crew can help players make better decisions when playing with or against artifact vehicles. Players may choose to hold back creatures in order to activate Crew on a vehicle, or they may choose to remove the creatures from the battlefield to prevent their opponent from activating Crew.
Conclusion:
So, is Crew an activated ability? No, it is not. While it may have similarities to activated abilities, it is considered a special action in the rules of Magic: The Gathering. Understanding the difference between keyword abilities and activated abilities is important for players who want to master the game and make the best decisions possible.
Komentar
Posting Komentar